Change the World – DBlog Week

This will be my first year particpating in #DBlogWeek,  I am a little apprehensive. What can I contribute to this big online world of witty, charming, smart and funny dblogs? This seems to be a recurring theme in my life. After 30 years with Diabetes and so many lessons and accomplishments along the way, I still have this sense of not being good enough. I wonder if this is because I grew up being different, never having good enough blood sugars, and being told about all the things I couldn’t do and would never do? 

I’ve heard it said that FEAR can either stand for Face Everything And Recover or Forget Everything and Run. I used to do the latter a lot. Today, however, that’s not how I roll. So here I am, contributing despite what my inner critic tells me and although we can never “recover” from T1D, we can try our best to focus on the blessings in our life. Like the DOC for example. This community has made me feel part of something bigger than myself and picks me up when I’m feeling down. Just like D camp did for me when I was 8 years old. Last night I found a box of keepsakes that my mom saved for me and in there was my certicficate from Camp Huronda for my first self-injection () and also my kindergarten report card from June 1985, 7 months after being diagnosed.

It reads:
“Cori-Ann, you have not let your illness hold you back. You have made a fine effort this year. I’ll miss your cheerful ways. ” (before that it also says that I enjoyed my part in the rhythm band and had a good sense of beat. And that I worked hard in the gym… lol). 

So on that note, I’d like to say that if I could change the world, yes I’d obviously cure Diabetes. But since that’s not available at this time, I would ask that we all stay cheerful and and not let Diabetes hold us back from anything in life, that we keep dancing to our own beat and work hard at the gym (WITH NO LOWS!!).

 report card

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Change the World – DBlog Week

  1. So glad to have found your blog, and it’s great to have you doing D-Blog Week with us this week! It’s so incredible to have so many voices come together, and every single one matters and makes a difference. I can relate to what you’re saying so much… was diagnosed as a young kid myself back in 84, just before starting kindergarten. So it’s been a long time, and I’m now in my 30th year too. But really didn’t start feeling “not alone” until finding the Diabetes Online Community back in 2005-6 and eventually interacting with others, and it’s been a pretty life-changing experience. Especially during those toughest and darkest times. I think those who share their stories ARE changing the world, in so many ways, for other D-peeps, and I’m so glad you’re a part of it. Looking forward to reading more!

  2. Pingback: Sunday Funnies: D-Blog Saturation? : DiabetesMine: the all things diabetes blog

Leave a Reply

